Why I Post Ugly Pictures of Myself on Facebook (sort of)

17 Apr

 

I think I will title this post “Why I Post Ugly Pictures of Myself on Facebook”, but I’m not sure that’s what I really want to say.  Because the truth is, at this place in my walk with God, I don’t think I’m ugly.  That’s not bragging y’all – that is hard fought for truth over my life, that we are ALL created in the image of God, and therefore not ugly.  Furthermore, I am a heaven bound child of God, and I know that I am treasure not trash, and so are you!

 

So back to the posting pictures – I don’t know about you, but I struggle with facebook occasionally.  I was raised to be a lady, and how a lady presents herself is very important.  But sometimes our family photos or the others that I am tagged in, while not inappropriate, are not ones that I would usually choose to display.  There was a time when they would be permanently deleted/trashed, and after facebook they would have been “untagged”.  To be honest, I really don’t think there is anything wrong with that, wanting to have the lasting images of yourself be attractive, at least.  I mean I know what I look like in the mirror every morning, and I’m ok with that – but when I go somewhere – I’d like to put my best foot…I mean face (and hair and clothes, etc) forward – you know what I mean ladies.

 

The thing is, that in difficult times, dark seasons, and late night facebook stalking sessions, all I often see are perfect images of perfect people, and it’s easy to struggle with feeling that I don’t measure up, but God has shown me how to measure my worth, and it’s not through facebook.  But sometimes, I’ll stumble across pictures in the profile of someone I admire, and I’ll see candid photos of them, where they maybe don’t look their best.  Not that they look inappropriate or someone blasted them with the camera straight out of bed and then tagged them to facebook – but you know those moments when your hair doesn’t look great or you have little to no makeup on or you know that baby weight isn’t cropped out.  I have found, that sometimes the reminder of the humanity of others is reassuring…not in a way that it makes me feel better than someone else or to think “at least I don’t look that bad,” because I’m not interested in those kinds of comparisons!  And I truly celebrate women who take care of themselves and I enjoy seeing my girlfriends look and feel their best!  But it’s just reassuring to see the raw, candid humanity in those moments when I maybe am feeling the weight of my own, and struggling to even pull it together for a proper presentation.

 

So, all that said, sometimes I feel compelled to leave those less than perfect photos of myself there for all the world to see (or at least my facebook friends).  And maybe also, in the process sow seeds into my daughter not to take her outer appearance too seriously, but rather, to care for herself, to showcase her best, but to love herself because she is fearfully and wonderfully made.Image  Yes, the angle may not make my chin look great or my waist look small, but perhaps I am showing someone else, someone a few steps behind me that “picture perfect” is not what it is all about…that I care for myself because I know that God loves me and I am His treasure and it brings me joy, but not to try to look perfect to impress others.  Just a thought…or maybe a challenge.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 836 other followers

